1980 All-Ireland Club Championship Victory

On 1st. of June 1980, we won the All Ireland Senior Club Championship after a 1-11 to 1-08 defeat of McQuillan’s – a Club in Ballycastle, County Antrim

Castlegar beat Blackrock (Cork) in the Semi-Final. Score –  2-09 to 0-09.

To qualify, we won the Connacth Final on March the 30th. 1980, beating Tremane – a Roscommon Club, with a final score of 1-16 to 1-09.

  • Download a PDF. of the Galway Advertiser’s report.

Top Row L to R: John Connor, Pakie Long, Pat Burke,Tom Connolly, Murt Connolly, Christy Mulryan, Gerry King, Michael Murphy, Sean Broderick, Sean Murphy.

Middle Row Left to Right: Tony Regan, Gerry Glynn, Joe Connolly, Liam Mulryan, Tommy Joe Grogan (in Goals) ,John Connolly, John Coady, Ted Murphy,  Michael Glynn, Seamus Fahy.

Front Row L to R: Tom Murphy, Pakie Connor, Michael Connolly(Capt.), Jimmy Francis, Padraic Connolly, Gerry Connolly, Tom Egan.